Q. Why am I required to consent to EBSCO's privacy policy before logging in?

Answer

When students, faculty, and staff log into EBSCO databases, they may encounter a consent screen titled "Personal Data Retention and Usage." It looks something like this:

Text for EBSCOhost's personal data retention and usage policy

This screen is referring to the data retention needed to create and maintain a personal 'My EBSCOhost folder' where you can save articles, searches, and citations for easy referral later on.

EBSCO does NOT share personal information/searches/saved articles with third parties. Nor would the Rasmussen College Online Library condone the breach of user privacy.
 

If you opt to not consent to this policy, you will NOT be able to use any of the EBSCO databases for research purposes.
 

If you have already selected "No" and cannot access the EBSCO databases, please try clearing your cache and cookies, close your browser and start a new browser session. This should force the message to appear again allowing you to change your answer. 

 

For more information about EBSCO's privacy policy and security, please see their FAQ here.

  • Last Updated May 06, 2020
  • Views 157
  • Answered By Sara Fillbrandt, Digital Services Librarian

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 1   0